Nancy Drew ReRead P2

I know I started the year with a Nancy Drew reread, and finally twelve months later I get to the rest. I’ve been busy. Nonetheless, I almost got the whole collection minus 4 of them that had already been checked out from the library. Or stolen. It wasn’t quite clear.

Anyway, onto the second reread which I did books 8 through 20 more or less. Here the books are very remiscent of Scooby Doo from the 60s vibes to the wacky hijinks. Only I’d argue Nancy’s adventures were a touch more dangerous as she and her friends were getting constantly kidnapped by men who want to get rich the quick dishonest way. Since there’s too many to do a full review, here are my quick thoughts on each.

The Sign of the Twisted Candles– A mystery where a regular person would stay out of a family feud but Nancy gets in the thick of it. Good thing too as she saves an abused Carol, forced to work as a housekeeper for the horrible Sidney’s I liked the Romeo and Juliet explanation of the backstory for the feuding families and how Nancy was able to give Carol back to her rightful family and inheritance.

Password to Lakespur Lane– This truly could have been a Scooby doo episode where con men trick elderly women looking for their youth and vanity to get their fortunes. I also warmed up more to Ned and Nancy as a nice sleuthing couple. I also enjoyed seeing Nancy’s clever disguise as an old woman.

The Message in the Hollow Oak-Once again Nancy lives the dream without going to college but on another vacation to NY at her Aunt Eloise’s behest to solve a mystery regarding ancient Indian artifacts.  While it is fast paced, it didn’t interest me much as it reminded me of the book, Nancy and the Secret of the Forgotten City.

The Mystery of the Ivory Charm-Orientalism dome slightly better?!? Nancy helps poor orphan Rishi after a circus act gone haywire and resolves to help the boy after finding out his kidnapped origins and his lost fortune. Nice twist in regards to Rishi’s “brother” actually being his kidnapper but I did get annoyed of how Rishi constantly talked in third person.

Mystery of the Moss Covered Mansion– I found that this one strained credulity as Nancy and her friends foil a plot to hurt astronauts before their launch. Yes, it’s cool to have a change of location with Florida Pantera, swamps and such but I just found this one took a step too far somehow.

The Quest of the Missing Map-Turns out I was wrong. Nancy does visit college. Blackstone College to be exact. Mainly cuz her friend Ellen is tying to get a job there but her position is put in jeopardy when Nancy gets involved in solving a missing map. I’m just amazed that there are so many buried treasures around New York State. Still I enjoy how every time you think Nancy is about to save the day, she gets thrown one more hair raising kidnapping. 

The Clue in the Jewel Box– I know I said Nancy saving astronauts is unrealistic so I should feel the same about Nancy helping Madam Alexandra find long lost grandson Prince Michael. But I really enjoyed the Anastasia like plot and the uncovering of the nasty imposter. It was predictable but fun and one of my favorites out of this bunch.

The Secret in the Old Attic– Nancy’s dad has her help a case which ends up in a case of black widows and musical plagerism. The former being a much more terrifying threat but found it a bit forgettable. Music plagerism kinda lacks glamour the other mysteries had.

The Clue in the Old Album– When Nancy initially helps a woman with a purse grabbing, she ends up entangled with gypsies. Very stereotypical as it makes the gypsies out to be the bad guys trying to take over the world with magic like every other marginalized person that ends up in these older books.

The Ghost of Blackwood Hall– Illusionists use a seance to trick people out of their money. Another yawn as the spooky ghosts and secret tunnels reminded me of fittingly The Secret Tunnel. 

The Clue of the Black Keys was cool as Nancy helps a Kentucky progessor when his colleague gets kidnapped. The students head to Mexico to rescue him and the titular black keys that are the catalyst for the map’s hidden message. On top of that Nancy has a rare moment of helping the female suspect Mrs. Wrangell turn herself in as she figures out that she’s doing it more out of fear than greed.

Mystery at the Ski Jump-Nancy’s vacation with her fiends and aunt at a ski jump turn into an adventure when she is hired to find a missing witness. Interesting but ho him to me. Not even ski chases could liven it up for me. I just felt “cold” to it. Pun intended.

The Clue of the Velvet Mask has fun with masquerade but the ultimate motivation of jewels and reproduced miniatures felt uninspired.

So this bunch was a mix of bad and good but the next bunch of #30-40 were pretty great. I call it the vacation series as Keene takes more advantage of the exotic locales Nancy ends up in.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started